The Greatest Mistakes We Make

Friday Flows From A Writer's Mind

George Kalantzis
2 min readNov 24, 2023

The phrase above is not just a marketing catchphrase for me. It resonates deeply with my current life. As I draft my new fiction book, which promises to be a captivating read, I’m reminded of Elbert Hubbard’s words:

“The greatest mistake you can make in life is to be continually fearing you will make one.”

This quote hits home, particularly in how most of us often shy away from trying new things.

While I acknowledge my imperfections and my fair share of mistakes, living in fear of judgment or failure seems like a waste of one’s potential.

Those who achieve greatness don’t operate under this fear.

As a writer and a single father, I’ve learned that making mistakes is integral to the journey. It’s about embracing trial and error, acknowledging your missteps, and continuing to refine and adapt your story.

Understanding and accepting our humanity, with all its flaws and errors, is vital. Yes, some mistakes can be painful or seemingly foolish, but each one teaches us and contributes to our growth.

Returning to the concept of “The greatest mistake,” these words serve as a guiding principle. Even if the lessons aren’t immediately apparent, they eventually lead to…

--

--

George Kalantzis

George is a professional storyteller, a dad to a sassy and adventurous eight year-old girl, and the author Of Nowhere To Go