The Biggest Lie That Limits Our Potential ( and how to stop it)

Friday Flow- Learning To Let Go And Grow

George Kalantzis
4 min readJul 15, 2022
My Last Week As an Active Duty Marine, 2011

Twenty years ago, I thought I’d be retired from the United States Marines. I pictured myself as the Marine who traveled the world, deployed to combat zones, and acted like that badass you see in the movies. Instead, my years as a Marine consisted of death, addiction, and valuable life lessons that forced me to hang up my uniform after ten years of honorable service. When I left, I wasn’t headed to an exotic location, surrounded by fellow Marines. I was on my way back home — a place I knew I’d never survive.

If I am not him, then who is he?- G.Kalantzis

We all have stories written by outside forces in our lives. Our harsh inner critics depict how the story goes. Identities wrapped up in the pain of our fathers and mothers. Closed off hearts from broken stories of love. Camouflaged personalities are hidden behind high performance. However we walk through life, rarely do we try to become the author of our story.

It’s been a year since my severance phase of the vision fast. One of the most important lessons I have learned is the concept of surrender.

The biggest lie we can tell ourselves is that we must continue down paths that hurt our bodies, minds, souls, and hearts.

--

--

George Kalantzis

George is a professional storyteller, a dad to a sassy and adventurous eight year-old girl, and the author Of Nowhere To Go