Is This Thing On? How To Know If You’re On The Right Path In Life

George Kalantzis
3 min readSep 1, 2023

It’s 4:37 a.m. on a Friday, and I haven’t felt this eager to write in a long while. Water. Breathe. Coffee. Write. These morning rituals remind me I’m alive.

As I go through my writing routine, my thoughts wander to the mental checklists we all keep — those where we assume that reaching a particular milestone will unlock a new level of contentment. Yet, when we arrive, we often question who we are and whether this is what we genuinely desire.

I recently had a moment of clarity while journaling in a park overlooking a lake.

A dog and its owner were playing fetch.

Have you ever watched a dog chase a ball? It doesn’t pause to think about what its life would be like if it missed the catch.

This simple moment serves as a reminder that happiness often resides in the little things.

As Plato once said, “The greatest wealth is to live content with little.”

In this age of constant self-evaluation, driven by Instagram-perfect images and carefully curated personal narratives, it’s easy to lose perspective. I’ve served in the military, made it through a divorce, multiple career shifts, and can tell you that striving for an idealized self can lead to emotional confusion.

--

--

George Kalantzis

George is a professional storyteller, a dad to a sassy and adventurous eight year-old girl, and the author Of Nowhere To Go