I’m Ditching Timelines In Life

And Here’s Why You Should Too

George Kalantzis
3 min readOct 27, 2023

Authors Note** I am not here to teach but simply to share the unfiltered reflections of my mind. These words were born in the quiet, introspective hours of 4 a.m. when the world is still, and my thoughts run wild.

You are about to read a raw, honest exploration of my innermost thoughts and feelings. It is a snapshot of my soul, captured in the vulnerable hours of the night. It is not a guide or a roadmap but rather a companion in contemplation, an invitation to join me in the messy, beautiful process of self-reflection.

Alright, journal. It’s just you, me, and this cup of coffee. I’ve been running in circles, chasing my tail, lost in the hustle of life’s deadlines and timelines.

I flip open my journal, revealing pages filled with past reflections and thoughts.

Why does this seem like I’m stuck in Groundhog Day?

I’ve spent my life setting timelines, figuring out where I’m supposed to be and when. But I’m done. I’m ditching the timelines.

I start to write as my pen moves swiftly across the page.

Life… it’s not about hitting milestones by a certain age. It’s about the journey. I’ve heard it a thousand times, but what does it truly mean?

--

--

George Kalantzis

George is a professional storyteller, a dad to a sassy and adventurous eight year-old girl, and the author Of Nowhere To Go