How Does It Feel To Know Everything In Life Is Not What It Seems?

For what it’s worth, it’s never too late to start.

George Kalantzis
4 min readApr 29, 2022
Obligatory photo in which I am contemplating the point of life

The French writer Andre Gide once said “ everything that needs to be said has already been said. But, since no one was listening, everything must be said again”.

I never thought I’d write a book. I never thought I’d get on stage to share my poetry. It kind of just happened.

People ask me how I continually write, and my answer, experiencing life.

I study poets, artists, musicians, and nature. Everything in the world around me is a playground for life. Sometimes inspiration strikes, other days it doesn’t. And through it all, I have learned that if I free myself from expectations and experience life for what it is, magic happens.

Of course, like most people, I fantasize about life on a bigger scale. I think it would be cool to be an author and poet who people quote and tweet about.
Maybe even have enough money to have a giant cabin in the woods where silence fills the crisp air and the scenery is serene. That’s the life I dream of living.

But I digress.

One morning while writing my second book, it hit me. What if life wasn’t what I

--

--

George Kalantzis

George is a professional storyteller, a dad to a sassy and adventurous eight year-old girl, and the author Of Nowhere To Go